Autumn For The Win Part 2: Snickerdoodles

Snicker: A subtle kind of evil laugh generally done while making fun of someone/something. No equivalent French word.

Doodle: A small, non-sensical drawing often done in the margins of notebooks. No equivalent French word.

The above definition of a “snickerdoodle” arose during conversation hour with my French class. Of course the only way that “a nonsensical evil laugh drawing” could exist would be in cookie form.

The snickerdoodle, aside from anything gauche like pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, is perhaps the most Autumnal of all cookies. It’s like a sugar cookie but better because it has more butter and is rolled in cinnamon. Yum. They are also super American so I was surprised to realize that I had never attempted to make them before. Last night seemed as good of a time as any for a first attempt.

During my walk home yesterday, I had the sudden urge to make cookies, any sort of cookies. I was initially thinking peanut butter because I have a bunch of it laying around (‘murica) but then Pinterest led me to recipes upon recipes for snickerdoodles. After much deliberation, I ended up going with this one from 30 Handmade Days (http://www.thirtyhandmadedays.com/2014/04/best-snickerdoodle-cookies-ive-ever/).

First of all, I found out that even if you let butter soften for three hours, it is still REALLY hard to mix without an electric mixer. As I had only a sturdy wisk, I’m pretty sure I got my arm work-out for the week making these things.

IMG_0029

Once I had the dough assembled, I found the task of assembling the cookies – rolling the dough into little balls and rolling them in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar – to be quite calming, meditative even.

The recipe suggests that the cookies only need to bake for 12-14 minutes and it would be wrong. So very, very wrong. It’s possible that there may be a typo with the oven temperature, but I doubled the cooking time and they turned out perfectly delicious.

IMG_0030

Also, I ended up with so much dough that I ran out of space on both of my baking sheets and had to refrigerate the rest of the dough to make later. Of course, I made the rest of it tonight. What kind of person just has errant cookie dough in their fridge and doesn’t eat it? (either as actual cookies or in dough form. . .I’m not judging)

IMG_0033

I ended up eating two as soon as they came out of the oven. I also ate a few for breakfast because I am a wonton glutton. They’re kind of extremely delicious dipped into hot coffee. I also brought a bunch to class to share with my wonderful classmates.

FullSizeRender IMG_0032

So without further ado, here’s the recipe!

Cookies:

1 cup of butter, softened (seriously, you want it really soft and if you have an electric mixer, do use it)

1 cup of granulated sugar

2/3 cup of brown sugar

2 eggs

1 ½ teaspoon of vanilla (the original recipe had only 1 teaspoon but I added more because vanilla is delicious)

3 cups of all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of baking soda

½ teaspoon of cream of tartar

Topping:

¼ cup granulated sugar

2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

(I halved this from the original recipe. It made way too much and now the rest is in a mason jar for decoration)

Preheat the oven to 300 F/150 C.

In a large bowl, mix the butter and sugars together until there are no lumps. If you’re feeling ambitious, put down your dumbells and mix it by hand.

Add eggs and vanilla and mix until it is smooth. Combine the rest of the ingredients in a separate bowl and slowly combine the wet and dry ingredients. Once everything is well blended, chill the dough for 30 minutes to and hour (the perfect amount of time to make lunch and do homework!).

Combine the ingredients for the topping in a small bowl. Scoop the dough into about 1-inch balls. If you’re fancy and have a cookie scoop or a melon baller, use that. I just used a regular spoon. Roll each ball to smooth the edges and dip into the cinnamon/sugar mixture to coat it all the way around. Place the dough balls about 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper or tinfoil.

Bake 15-20 minutes.

In theory, you’re supposed to transfer the cookies to a wire rack to let them cool completely. I didn’t do that because I have no self control in the face of baked goods. But do let them cool before storing them. Since this recipe makes A LOT of cookies, I recommend sharing . . . or not.

Bonne Appétit, mes amis!

Leave a Reply

