A Triumphant Return: Mediterranean Savory Oatmeal

My dear friends, I am so sorry to have abandoned this blog for so long. As often happens, exams, school, and life got in the way for an extended period of time. But I vow, no more shall I wantonly leave behind this project! However, in the time that I have been away, I have cooked many things and invented a number of recipes of my own which I am very excited to share here.

Today, I will be demonstrating a quick and easy breakfast that I improvised this morning. It was so great that I feel compelled to share it with the entire internet.

I got the idea for savory oatmeal when I was flipping through Angela Liddon’s “Oh She Glows” cookbook which is overflowing with delicious-looking, healthy, vegan recipes. This book has a version of savory oatmeal with lentils, hummus and avocado which I’m sure I will have to try at some point. When I described this concoction to my friend Dorothy she said, and I quote, “Oh my God. Savory oatmeal is great! Try cracking an egg into it!”. So I did. And thus, the situation below was born.

Ta da!

Ta da!

To make this you will need:

1/2 cup of rolled oats

1 cup of boiling water

1 egg

2-3 tablespoons of baba gannouj

1/4 cup sliced cherry tomatoes

a drizzle of olive oil

1/4 teaspoon of paprika (smoked is ideal)

salt and pepper to taste

First, bring the water to a boil in a saucepan. Add the oatmeal and cook according to package directions (generally just stir occasionally until it’s thick). Next, crack the egg into the mixture and stir until the egg is well combined and thoroughly cooked. Add salt and pepper. Top with baba gannouj, cherry tomatoes, olive oil and paprika.

Bam! You’ve started the day on the right foot.

Bon Appetite, mes amis!

Leave a Reply

